UniBank Awards $46,000 in Scholarships

UniBank awarded a total of $46,000 in scholarships to twenty-three class of 2017 graduates from local high schools in the towns of Blackstone, Douglas, Grafton, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Milford, Shrewsbury, Sutton, Upton, Uxbridge, Whitinsville, and Worcester. UniBank offers annual scholarships to support the educational endeavors of exceptional students in the towns served by UniBank branches in Central Massachusetts and MetroWest. Each school selected a winner using UniBank’s qualifying criteria: character, involvement in school or community activities, financial need and academic achievement.

Scholarship winners and their parents were honored at a recent breakfast reception hosted by UniBank President and CEO, Sam S. Pepper, Jr. at Pleasant Valley Country Club in Sutton, MA. Mr. Pepper spoke with the students about their achievements through high school and adventures that lay ahead as they head off to college. UniBank’s branch managers were on hand to present the students with their scholarships at the breakfast.

(Back row left-right): Jesse Asare, graduate of North High School in Worcester; Austin Odell, graduate of Hopkinton High School; Kweku Sam Colecraft, graduate of Abby Kelly Foster Charter Public School in Worcester; Harmit Raval, graduate of Milford High School; and Cameron LeBlanc, graduate of Burncoat High School in Worcester.

(Center row left-right): Lauren Bek, graduate of Whitinsville Christian High School; Audrey George, graduate of Douglas High School; Cali Bloem, graduate of Northbridge High School; Angela Vergilis, graduate of Blackstone Valley Regional Vocational Technical High School (Recipient of the UniBank Corporal John Dawson Memorial Scholarship); Sam S. Pepper, Jr., UniBank President and CEO; Savannah Russell, graduate of Sutton High School; Danirose Billings, graduate of Hopedale High School; Ina Perez, graduate of Doherty Memorial High School in Worcester; and Julia Markowski, graduate of Grafton High School.

(Front row left-right): Neve Palmieri, graduate of Uxbridge High School; and Leana Radzik, graduate of Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science in Worcester.  

Not photographed: Alexander Le, graduate of South High School in Worcester; Bryhannah Young, graduate of University Park Campus School in Worcester; Kayma Snook, graduate of Nipmuc Regional High School; Saralynn Spear, graduate of Blackstone-Millville Regional High School; Tabitha Fields, graduate of Blackstone Valley Regional Vocational Technical High School; Arianna Kassos, graduate of Shrewsbury High School; Emilia Roemer, graduate of Worcester Technical High School; and Nhi Tran, graduate of Claremont Academy in Worcester.